How to watch Eurovision Choir of the Year

In just a few days, on Saturday 22 July, the first ever edition of Eurovision Choir of the Year will take place in Riga, Latvia.

In total nine choirs will participate in Eurovision Choir of the Year 2017. Wales will participate for the first time in a Eurovision Family of Events production. The participants (in alphabetical order):

  • Hardchor Linz (Austria)
  • Les Pastoreaux (Belgium)
  • Academic Choir of Aarhus (Denmark)
  • Estonian TV Girls’ Choir (Estonia)
  • Jazzchor Freiburg (Germany)
  • Spīgo (Latvia)
  • Carmen Manet (Slovenia)
  • Bela Bartok Male Choir (Hungary)
  • Côr Merched Sir Gâr (Wales)

What can you expect?

Each choir will perform a six-minute unaccompanied set in any genre. The songs can include one or several works, and should in part reflect their respective national or regional character in some way.

The choirs will be judged by a high-profile jury, including British composer John Rutter and Latvian mezzo-soprano Elīna Garanča. Grammy-winning composer and conductor Eric Whitacre and Latvian Television’s culture presenter Eva Johansone will host the show.

Where to watch?

Eurovision Choir of the Year will be broadcast live from the Riga Arena on 22 July at 20:00 CEST and available to watch on the channels of the participating countries. The show will also be streamed worldwide on the official Eurovision Choir channel on YouTube. Specific viewing information is listed below.

Live broadcasts

  • Belgium (La Trois) 20:00 local time
  • Denmark (DRK) 20:00 local time
  • Estonia (ETV 2) 21:00 local time
  • France (Arte Culture) 20:00 local time
  • Hungary (M5) 20:00 local time
  • Latvia (LTV 1) 21:00 local time
  • Slovenia (RTV 1) as live
  • Serbia (RTS 2) 21:00 local time
  • Wales (S4C) 19:00  local time

Delayed broadcasts

  • Albania (RTSH 1) 22 July, 21:40 local time
  • Austria (ORF 2) 22 July, 22:50 local time
  • Germany (WDR) 30 July, 07:40 local time
  • Germany (SWR) 5 August, 21:20 local time

Follow the action live from Riga!

Eurovision Choir of the year is organised by Latvian Television, the European Broadcasting Union (EBU), INTERKULTUR and LIVE RIGA.

For the latest updates about Eurovision Choir of the Year follow the official Facebook page and Twitter account and don’t forget to use the hashtags #EurovisionChoir #BreathingTogether and #LatvijasTelevizija.

Leave a Reply